Science and Study Guide for the test on Life Cycles (test date not chosen yet)

Our next science unit is plant and animal life cycles.  Students will begin the unit by looking at and taking apart seeds and pine cones.

Image result for lima bean seed dissection

Image result for pine cones


Study Guide for Life Cycle Test

A cactus is a plant with long roots near the surface of the soil.  These roots are one way that the cactus has adapted to a place where there is little water.

An egg is the first stage in a bird’s life cycle.

A butterfly goes through a complete metamorphosis.

The pistil is the part of the flower where the seeds develop.

The role of a flower is to produce seeds.

Wind, water, and animals spread seeds.

The larva of a butterfly is also called a caterpillar.

The part of a seed coat that protects the embryo is called the seed coat.

In the nymph stage, a grasshopper does not fly because it has not grown wings.

When puppies are grow they are in the adult stage of their life cycle.

Laying many eggs is an adaptation to help the species continue or survive.

The egg is the first stage in the life cycle for almost all animals.

Stored food is the food that a plant embryo needs to survive.

Incomplete metamorphosis is the life cycle that a grasshopper goes through.

Pollination is the process by which pollen lands on the pistil to make seeds.

Fruit is the part of the seed that forms around a seed (tomato, for example).

Stamen is the part of the flower that produces pollen.

Petals are brightly colored parts of a flower.

Here is the order of the four stages in the life cycle of a butterfly:

1 – egg, 2 – larva, 3 – pupa, 4 – adult

Forest fires are very dangerous but they can be helpful too.  The heat from a fire causes the cones of a lodgepole pine to split open so that the seeds can be scattered.